GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Share your thoughts / tips / comments / ideas about ArKaos GrandVJ.

Moderators: Jdoniaute, Quentin, crustea, pierre, polanri

GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby PhasedMedia » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:40 am

Please post your bug reports for current version in this thread...

-Master Contrast. Default contrast is still wrong since version 2.
-Chroma Keying. Red colour does not key at all. Try keying out each colour on a colourbar test pattern.
-Jpeg thumbnails. No thumbnails for stills in the list of layers in mixer mode.
-Thunderbolt capture devices. Crashing GVJ on starup (Macintosh).
-Force Resolution. Selecting 'force resolution' will change refresh rate on output displays to 59 or 60Hz regardless of EDID (Windows).
Last edited by PhasedMedia on Thu Jun 19, 2014 2:49 am, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
PhasedMedia
Expert user
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 12:21 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby sonmor47 » Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:26 am

vob files played but donot those files and remove them or others like mov, mpg, jpg can reuse ...
not accept any file
sonmor47
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:04 am

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby VJSubliminalTwin » Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:35 pm

Jpeg thumbnails show up in the main bank matrix but when they are triggered they show up as black thumbnails in the list of layers. They still work but I can't see what I'm working with. A huge portion of my set consists of animating jpegs with GVJ effects so this is very frustrating.

Can't properly midi map the cross fader. Strange results... it randomly maps it so that when I move the fader from A to B on the controller, all 8 layers shrink and disappear with a weird transition.

I second the master contrast comment above.

I really have no hope for this, it's already such an unnecessarily clunky version on top of the bugs. I'm sure I don't need to reiterate what people have already complained about like the amount of unused grey area space, the fact that the visual/effect/etc tabs don't resize, and the new transition tab that requires me to separately click a button even though my setup in 1.6.5 is done so that I don't ever have to touch the mouse...

I'm sticking to 1.6.5. I just wish I could use the XT mapping features with it.
VJSubliminalTwin
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 2:42 am

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby blaxer » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:34 pm

Having massive problems with my video library, videos that work fine in 1.6.x stutter and literally completely crash 2.0.2 I've tried 2.0.2 in Windows and OSX no difference. About %60 of my videos do not work right, not sure what else to do there doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to which videos do not work, they are mostly MP4 but there are several other formats. I've had to resort to using 1.6.x on most projects, very disappointing.
blaxer
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby yuria » Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:30 am

GrandVJ 2.x always crashes on startup, If thunderbolt device (display, capture device, etc...) connected.

Mac OS X Mavericks
MacBook Pro Retina(Mid2012), MacBook Air(Mid 2011), and Mac Pro(Late 2013), this problem occurs on all machines.

Any version of GrandVJ 2.0 (2.0, 2.0.1, 2.0.2) has this problem. (GrandVJ 1.6.5 works fine)
yuria
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:00 am
Location: Japan

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby JJJ » Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:27 pm

yuria,

you might be having the same problem I did a few months ago.

Under preferences - Display - Options - Time reference: You likely selected "Display." Use System Clock.

Now to get GVJ to open you must delete the preferences. Doing an uninstall re-install won't even do it.

Here's the procedure.

Open Finder.
Command Shift G
Type: ~/Library/Preferences/
Delete: GV2 folder
Delete: com.ArKaos.GrandVJ.plist if you see it.
It's safe to delete any file related to Arkaos or GVJ2 here. Nothing harmed in deleting a .plist or .xml file.


That should do it.

Start GVJ - should be back to factory defaults.

Never use Time reference: Display.

Arkaos knows about this problem.

It cost me about 3 months of production.
JJJ
JJJ
Expert user
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:27 am

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby yuria » Tue Jun 17, 2014 1:45 am

Thank you JJJ,

I tried your solution (Set Time Reference to System Clock, delete GVJ2 folder, plist, and xml) ,
but I can't solve problem...
yuria
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:00 am
Location: Japan

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby JJJ » Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:47 am

Yuria,

Still crashing on start up?
JJJ
JJJ
Expert user
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:27 am

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby yuria » Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:59 am

JJJ,

Yes, still crashing on startup (can't start GrandVJ when I connect any thunderbolt device)
yuria
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:00 am
Location: Japan

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby JJJ » Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:03 am

Wow.

I'm at a loss.

You won't hear from ARKAOS on here.

You need to open a support ticket. They will respond quickly.

If I think of anything I'll ping you.

I don't have any Thunderbolt devices to test.
JJJ
JJJ
Expert user
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:27 am

Re: GVJ 2.0.2 Bug Reporting Thread

Postby yuria » Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:58 am

JJJ,

I tried your solution again. (and restarted my computer)
I have solved thunderbolt display probrem, but still have probrem with thunderbolt capture device.
So I contact the ArKaos support.

Thank you!
yuria
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 2:00 am
Location: Japan


Return to GrandVJ - Eight channels VJ software for real time HD video mixing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron